We pride ourselves on our safety standards

Spadeoak are a specialist surfacing contractor, trusted by our clients for over 45 years, we are committed to meeting customer and legal requirements and enhancing the satisfaction of all our customers. Find out more about our accreditations below.

At Spadeoak we pride ourselves on our quality and safety standards, this is represented in our company accreditations. We continually review our accreditations, performance and the supporting business management systems to deliver continual improvement, utilising our in-house HSEQ Manager.

We recognise our duty towards corporate responsibility. We are committed to:

• Preventing injury and ill health to our employees and others.
• Environmental protection and resource efficiency.
• Complying with customer, legal and other requirements.
• Delivering equality in the way we employ our partners and treat all individuals.
• Investing in our workers through effective training and development.
• Respecting the communities that we work in.
• Ensuring good financial practices to ensure the continuing success of the company.
• The continual improvement of our working practices and management systems.

Our Accreditations

The Considerate Constructors Scheme

The Considerate Constructors Scheme is a not-for-profit, independent organisation founded to raise standards in the construction industry.

Construction sites, companies and suppliers voluntarily register with the Scheme and agree to abide by the Code of Considerate Practice, designed to encourage best practice beyond statutory requirements.

The Scheme’s Code of Considerate Practice has three areas: Respect the Community, Care for the Environment and Value their Workforce.


CHAS, or the Contractors Health and Safety Assessment Scheme as it is known in its proper form, is a significant scheme promoting the benefits of effective Health and Safety within industries and business. The purpose of CHAS certification is to assist buyers as well as suppliers in the process of health and safety competence assessment.

As a CHAS certified supplier we can save a company hours of time form filling for Health and Safety purposes. It makes it easy for potential clients to gain an insight into our working standards, in terms of health and safety with consistent and continuous improvement.

ConstructionLine – Platinum Member

ConstructionLine is a Government-run scheme, which collects, assesses and monitors our standard company information. It is the largest pre-qualification database in the UK and a leading procurement and supply chain management service.

ConstructionLine members are instantly recognised as aligned with government and industry standards throughout the business, making Spadeoak a more viable choice against those that don’t hold an accreditation.

ISO 9001:2015, 14001:2015, 45001:2018

ISO 9001 is the international standard that specifies requirements for a quality management system (QMS). Organisations use the standard to demonstrate the ability to consistently provide products and services that meet customer and regulatory requirements.

ISO 14001 is the international standard that specifies requirements for an effective environmental management system (EMS). It provides a framework that Spadeoak follow, rather than establishing environmental performance requirements.

ISO 45001 a standard developed by a committee of occupational health and safety experts and follows other generic management system approaches such as ISO 14001 and ISO 9001. It was based on earlier international standards in this area such as OHSAS 18001, the International Labour Organization’s ILO-OSH Guidelines, various national standards and the ILO’s international labour standards and conventions.. Compliance with it enables Spadeoak to demonstrate that we have a system in place for occupational health and safety.


CSCS is the leading skills certification scheme within the UK construction industry. CSCS cards provide proof that individuals working on construction sites on behalf of Spadeoak have the required training and qualifications for the type of work they carry out.


Established in 1952, CHSG is a well established, reputable provider of Health & Safety training within the Construction and Associated Industries.


The Fleet Operator Recognition Scheme (FORS) is a voluntary accreditation scheme for fleet operators which aims to raise the level of quality within fleet operations, and to demonstrate which operators are achieving exemplary levels of best practice in safety, efficiency, and environmental protection.

Becoming a FORS member can bring you the peace of mind that your company is managing its work related road risk (WRRR) – and demonstrates to your customers and supply chain your commitment to exceeding the industry standard.


SAPCA is a trade association with over 200 members who provide wide range of products and services for the sports and play facility construction industry. Helping people make better choices throughout their sports and play project journey.


The Achilles network has developed efficient, ethical and sustainable supply chains. By working with Achilles, Spadeoak can reduce supply chain risk and increase your ESG standards.

If you have a project and require our expert assistance contact Spadeoak today on 01628 529 421 or email sales@spadeoak.co.uk